Ottoman route

Ottoman route

In 1430 Murat II takes over Thessaloniki and the city remains under Ottoman sovereignty until 1912. In their search of a new country, almost 20.000 Jews from Spain settled in Thessaloniki in 1492 at the invitation of the Ottoman State. The co-existence between Greeks, Turks and Jews offers to the city its unique multiculturalism, a feature that defined its character for many centuries, while numerous significant buildings are constructed and many churches are turned into mosques. The architectural style of Thessaloniki starts to lean towards the East, in combination with a few European influences. The multicolor market of Bezesteni, the domed hammams offering both individual cleanliness and social interaction, the mosques, the public buildings, the old residences such as the one of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk, the reformer of Turks, and many others, can be tracked down to the city where West meets East through images, tastes, music.

Former Hamidiye School of Arts and Crafts (Axilithioti Engineering Workshop)

This imposing complex, built in 1903, as a part of Islahane Foundation’s Technical School’s orphanage,  was established in the late 19th century in Thessaloniki, during modernization reforms held by the Ottoman…
Read more

Villa Ahmet Kapandji

The charming countryside villa built in 1898 for Ahmed Kapandji and is a typical architectural sample of eclecticism. It consists of a main building and tower. Its basic elements are…
Read more

Villa Mehmet Kapandji

The magnificent three-storey villa was designed by architect Pierro Arrigoni in 1900, following the eclectic style with art nouveau influences. During the German occupation was the headquarter of Gestapo in…
Read more

Villa Mordoch

The beautiful house was built in 1905 for the Turkish divisional commander, Seifoulah Pasha, based on the designs drawn by the famous architect Xenophon Paionidis with dominant characteristic the coexistence…
Read more

Villa Hafiz Bey - School for the Blind

Villa Hafiz Bey was built in 1879 and designed by architect Xenophon Paionidis. During the WWII it was requisitioned by the Germans and since 1961 houses the School for the…
Read more
We're loading the markers, please wait a few seconds…
  • Thessaloniki Travel apps

    appstore googleplay






Right Click

No right click